Skip to content

Metroid Dread wins Nintendo Game of the Year at The Golden Joystick Awards 2021

Metroid Dread

The Golden Joystick Awards 2021 took place last night and the winner of the coveted Nintendo Game of the Year award went to Nintendo’s first new entry in the 2D Metroid series for twenty years, Metroid Dread. The Golden Joystick Awards are voted on by gamers, so it was an award well achieved for Metroid Dread. You can read our very own Metroid Dread review, which we awarded a massive 9.5/10 upon release.

The full list of nominees was: 

  • Bravely Default 2
  • Metroid Dread (winner)
  • Monster Hunter Rise
  • Neo: The World Ends with You
  • New Pokemon Snap
  • WarioWare: Get It Together


5 thoughts on “Metroid Dread wins Nintendo Game of the Year at The Golden Joystick Awards 2021”

  1. As much as people wanted Metroid to win, the winner, Resident Evil Village, was totally worthy of Ultimate Game of the Year. That game is so fun and so beautiful and has amazing sound quality.

    Village also won PlayStation Game of the Year and Best Audio Design.

    Very happy about it myself! 😊

  2. So Nintendo, since the game won Nintendo game of the year and selling well, means yall are going to make a sequel immediately right? No reason to wait 19 years doing nothing right? Ain’t that right? If yall start now we can have it at retailers by 2026-27.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: