Nintendo Switch

Rocket League Frosty Fest Begins December 11th

Rocket League fans should prepare themselves for a wintry event starting December 11th. The official blog has announced that the Frosty Fest starts next week and promises “Yuletide aerials and Goal Explosions (literally) chock full of presents and cheer.” Here’s all the details:

Starting December 11 at 5pm PST (8pm EST, 2am CET on December 12), Frosty Fest is based on the same kind of in-game Event you experienced previously with Haunted Hallows back in October. As you’d expect, the Event format is the same as Haunted Hallows, with ‘Snowflakes’ currency replacing the Candy Corn you earned with every completed Online Match. You can redeem Snowflakes to purchase Event items, Decryptors, or the brand new ‘Frosty Fest’ Event Crate!

You can grab the ‘Frosty Fest’ Event Crate three different ways, including as a drop after some Online Matches or via unlock with the Snowflakes you earn. If you’re looking for a more immediate approach, you’ll be able to purchase the Crate directly through the Rocket League client like you would Keys or Premium DLC Battle-Cars.

Finally, we’ve heard your feedback after the conclusion of our Haunted Hallows Event last month, and we’re making some changes based on that feedback, including how many Decryptors can be obtained — stay tuned! So get the egg nog and nutmeg ready, don your best (worst?) holiday sweater, and we’ll see you in the Snowy Arenas of Mannfield, DFH and Utopia!

  • Start Time: Monday, December 11, 5pm PST (8pm EST, 2am CET on December 12)
  • End Time: Tuesday, January 2, 10am PST (1pm EST, 7pm CET)

Source

 

Advertisements

3 comments

  1. *looks up Decryptors, it’s just a special kind of key, which all have to do with crates*
    As someone who is brand new to the game on Switch, the major focus on obtainable aesthetic frills seems completely unearned compared to Splatoon. I got the Samus car and am fine with everything else default.
    I guess this is nice though for people who want the extra stuff as a limited time event where some of it can be free.

    Like

  2. Let me guess. The Snowflakes only buy you crap. The good stuff is locked inside the loot crate and you have to spend your Snowflakes for a loot create and then spend real money for the items inside that loot crate. In the old days this was called a scam! Like “Participate in this survey for a free ticket in the lottery” and then “You won a vacuum cleaner worth $1000 in the lottery! Please transfer only $300 as an administrative charge so we can send you your prize.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Now now, folks. I’ve been playing Rocket League for quite some time – first on Steam, then on PS4, and will soon be getting it on Switch (once I get the system) – and the crate system only contains cosmetic items. That being said, crates and in-game items are tradeable with other players, unlike pretty much any other game out there. If you get enough crates, you can trade those crates to somebody for something really awesome that they might have, or even keys to unlock the crates you have. Is the option to spend more money there? Yes. But on a $20 game with TONS of free content every couple of months, what more could you expect? All of the money spent on those keys goes to Psyonix, who uses that money to puts on some of the biggest eSports tournaments in the industry. Psyonix is not EA, or Activision. Psyonix is awesome and I will defend them and their amazing work any day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s