Skip to content

Zelda: A Link Between Worlds Nominated For Game Of The Year In AIAS’ D.I.C.E Awards

In the midst of Nintendo’s financial gloom, it can only be a welcoming sigh of relief to hear that the company’s games are still turning heads amongst awards ceremonies and critics. The Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences (AIAS) has published the nominations for the annual D.I.C.E Awards (an acronym for Design, Innovate, Communicate and Entertain), with Nintendo scoring numerous nominations including three for Zelda: A Link Between Worlds, one of which is for overall Game of the Year.

The award ceremony is due to take place on February 6 at the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, with the winners announced after the culmination of votes from 22,000 AIAS’ members, as well as votes allocated to specific categories from members of the International Game Developers Association. Here’s a list of which Nintendo games have been nominated and others in the respective category – you can see the full list, here.

  • Game of the Year
    Nominees: Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag, Bioshock Infinite, Grand Theft Auto V, The Last of Us, The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
  • Role-Playing/Massively Multiplayer Game of the Year
    Nominees: Diablo III, Dota 2, Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen, Ni No
    Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch, Pokémon X & Y
  • Strategy/Simulation Game of the Year
    Nominees: Europa Universalis 4, Fire Emblem: Awakening, Sid Meier’s Civilization V: Brave New World, StarCraft II: Heart of the Swarm, XCOM: Enemy Within
  • Family Game of the Year
    Nominees: Disney Infinity, LEGO Marvel Super Heroes, Rayman Legends, Skylanders Swap Force, Super Mario 3D World
  • Handheld Game of the Year
    Nominees: Fire Emblem: Awakening, Luigi’s Mansion: Dark Moon, Pokémon X & Y, Tearaway, The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
  • Adventure Game of the Year
    Nominees: Assassin’s Creed: IV Black Flag, Tearaway, The Last of Us, The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds, Tomb Raider
  • Outstanding Achievement in Game Engineering
    Nominees: Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag, Forza Motorsport 5, Grand Theft Auto V. Super Mario 3D World, The Last of Us

15 thoughts on “Zelda: A Link Between Worlds Nominated For Game Of The Year In AIAS’ D.I.C.E Awards”

    1. The last boss was great and not at all that hard. Beat him my second try. NOT like Orcarina of Time Ganon who I lost to repeatedly over and over and over… and over and over… That was frusturating. 💋

      1. to be honest, Ganon on OoT took me 1 try
        the hardest boss on Zelda for me was Majora’s Wrath
        YuGanon was easy, it was challenging but it wasnt that hard

  1. Zelda definately deserves to win, but i have strange feeling that they will once again pick a game that no one has never heard of or no one really cares about. Remember everyone fallout 3 winned goty 08 and that game sucks(i have lost faith in goty awards after that accident).

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: