Skip to content

Golden Joystick Awards 2018: Fortnite Gets Game Of The Year

The Golden Joystick awards ceremony has been happening today and what most of you want to know is who claimed this year’s coveted Game of the Year award. It turns out it was Epic Games with their free-to-play title Fortnite which is available to download right now on the Nintendo Switch eShop. 

Best Story telling – God of War

Best competitive game – Fortnite Battle Royale

Best cooperative game – Monster Hunter World

Best visual design – God of War

Best indie game – Dead Cells

Best audio – God of War

Still playing – World of Tanks

Best performer – Bryan Dechart (Conner from Detroit Become Human)

Esports game of the year – Overwatch

Studio of the Year – SIE Santa Monica

Best VR Games – Skyrim VR

Mobile Game of the Year – PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds

PC Game of the Year – Subnautica

Playstaion Game of the Year – God of War

Xbox Game of the Year – Forza Horizon 4

Nintendo Game of the Year – Octopath Traveler

Breakthrough Award – Unknown Worlds (Subnautica)

Most Wanted Game – Cyberpunk 2077

Critic’s Choice Award – Red Dead Redemption 2

Lifetime Achievement – Hidetaka Miyazaki

Outstanding Contributions – Xbox Adaptive controller

Ultimate Game of the Year – Fortnite Battle Royale (runners up Red Dead Redemption 2 and Black Ops 4)


10 thoughts on “Golden Joystick Awards 2018: Fortnite Gets Game Of The Year”

  1. There have been far superior games released this year that’re much more deserving of the title; Soul Calibur 6, Monster Hunter World, Yakuza 6 to name a few. Even Spiderman actually got a decent game. Unsurprising though it may be, it goes to show that once again popularity has trumped gameplay, which is a shame.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: