playstation Switch xbox

Astria Ascending, by world-class JRPG developers, launches in 2021 on Switch

Artisan Studios and Dear Villagers, which consist of core Final Fantasy members along with developers from other high profile video games, have announced that they have been working on Astria Ascending which is coming to the Nintendo Switch system in 2021. Those of you who own an Xbox system will be able to play it free on Game Pass. Check out the newly released trailer here!

Astria Ascending is set in Orcanon and features art from CyDesignation, which was previously worked on Zodiac: Orcanon Odyssey with Kobojo. (That game appeared on iOS devices and had planned PC, PS4, and Vita versions that never surfaced.) Eight Demigods, each with their own story, is trying to save and change the world. Kazushige Nojima, who is known for working on the scenarios for Final Fantasy VII and its spin-offs, Final Fantasy VIII, Final Fantasy X and X-2, Final Fantasy XIII, and Final Fantasy XV, wrote its story. Hitoshi Sakimoto, who composed soundtracks for Final Fantasy and Valkyria Chronicles gamesand Vanillaware games like 13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim, is its composer.



  1. Had a feeling it had some kind of Final Fantasy-like connection with that kind of logo.

    But dang, that is indeed a world-class staff. The writer behind Final Fantasy X? The composer from Valkyria Chronicles? Literally people from some of my favorite games ever! :D

    It’s got my attention for sure.

  2. Final Fantasy X’s writer? Valkyria Chronicles composer? Well damn if that ain’t people behind some of my favorite games ever! :D

    It’s got my attention for sure!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: